ACA salutes Michael Clarke and Chris Rogers

26 August, 2015

Australian Cricketers' Association (ACA) President Greg Dyer and Chief Executive Alistair Nicholson paid tribute to Michael Clarke and Chris Rogers, who have both retired from international cricket following the completion of the final Test in this Ashes Series.

Mr Dyer said:

"As I mentioned when Michael announced his retirement prior to the match, he sits amongst the best batsmen Australia has produced and he gave outstanding service to the game.

“While the series result was disappointing, fighting it out and winning his final match was a fitting result in the circumstances and a great way to cap a distinguished career. That Michael elected to enforce the follow-on and rule out a final individual innings said a lot about his character.

"On behalf of all ACA members I congratulate Michael on all he has given to Australian cricket and everything he has achieved as a player and as a captain."

Clarke's phenomenal year in 2012 saw him amass 1595 runs at 106.33 and gather a swag of accolades. In 2013 he was named ICC Cricketer of the Year, and has won the Allan Border Medal a record four times as Australia's best player.

Mr Nicholson paid tribute to Chris Rogers.

"Chris Rogers was relentless in his pursuit of runs and the opportunity to play at the highest level possible.

"His unbelievable perseverance was rewarded with an extended Test career long after most thought it was possible, and he brought every ounce of his skill and experience to the fore.

"Beyond his five Test centuries and 14 half-centuries, Chris showed what hunger, adaptability and fierce determination can achieve. His story highlights these traits wonderfully and I’m sure they will be utilised in his post-playing career and as an example for players following him. We congratulate him and wish him well in the chapters that follow the terrific finish to his Test career.”

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.