State-by-state: End of season 2020-21 player awards

26 April, 2021
The 2020-21 domestic season has drawn to a close with state associations around the country hosting their awards nights and taking to social media to celebrate the outstanding players from a unique summer.

Marnus Labuschagne and Georgia Redmayne took home the major prizes in Queensland, the Ian Healy Trophy and Queensland Fire Player of the Year, capping a memorable summer for Bulls and Fire as they were victorious in the Sheffield Shield and WNCL respectively.

Marsh One-Day Cup winners and Sheffield Shield runners-up, New South Wales, crowned all-rounder Sean Abbott with the Steve Waugh Medal on their night of nights with Rachael Haynes awarded the Belinda Clark Medal following a stunning WNCL campaign. Test stars, David Warner and Nathan Lyon, took home the Blues’ One-Day Cup and Sheffield Shield Player of the Tournament awards.

It was a big night for Travis Head at the Dansie McCauley Medal in Adelaide, with the South Australian skipper awarded the Neil Dansie Medal as the state’s best men’s player across the summer having led the Redbacks for runs in both formats. Bridget Patterson crowned a standout season with the willow for the Scorpions to secure the Andrea McCauley Medal.

There was a tie in the Tasmanian medal count, for the Female Tigers’ Player of the Year Award with star allrounders Nicola Carey and Heather Graham each taking home the honour. Jackson Bird capped a fine summer across both format for the male Tigers to win the Ricky Ponting Medal for the second successive year.

In the west, Nicole Bolton won her fifth Zoe Goss Medal, WA’s highest women’s honour, winning the award for the second successive year. A breakout summer for rising star all-rounder Cameron Green saw the 21-year-old secure the state’s highest men’s honour, the Lawrie Sawle Medal.

In Victoria, Elyse Villani took home the Sharon Tredrea Award following her stunning WNCL campaign with men's captain, Peter Handscomb, securing the Dean Jones Medal as his state's finest one-day player from the summer. Marcus Harris was awarded the Bill Lawry Medal for his standout first-class campaign.

Cricket ACT hold their awards night in three weeks time.

Australian Cricket Awards
Domestic and Young Cricketers of the Year kick off Australian Cricket Awards

Cricket Australia and the Australian Cricketers’ Association are proud to announce the four domestic player-voted award winners for the Australian Cricket Awards

New South Wales

Steve Waugh Medal – Sean Abbott

Belinda Clark Medal – Rachael Haynes

Mike Hussey Medal (Sydney Thunder BBL Player of the Tournament) – Alex Hales

Alex Blackwell Medal (Sydney Thunder WBBL Player of the Tournament) – Heather Knight

Sydney Sixers’ BBL Player of the Tournament – James Vince

Sydney Sixers’ WBBL Player of the Tournament – Alyssa Healy

One-Day Cup Player of the Tournament – David Warner

Sheffield Shield Player of the Tournament – Nathan Lyon

WNCL Player of the Tournament – Rachael Haynes


Ian Healy Trophy – Marnus Labuschagne

Queensland Fire Player of the Year – Georgia Redmayne

Queensland Bulls One-Day Player of the Year – Billy Stanlake

Queensland Bulls Sheffield Shield Player of the Year – Marnus Labuschagne

Queensland Fire WNCL Players’ Player of the Year – Georgia Redmayne

Queensland Bulls Players’ Player of the Year – Mitch Swepson

Brisbane Heat BBL MVP – Chris Lynn

Brisbane Heat WBBL MVP – Amelia Kerr

Aus Cricket Awards
Mooney and Smith top the 2021 Australian Cricket Awards

ICC T20 World Cup hero Beth Mooney and the prolific Steve Smith have claimed the highest honours respectively at the 2021 Australian Cricket Awards.

South Australia

Neil Dansie Medal – Travis Head

Andrea McCauley Medal – Bridget Patterson

Marsh One-Day Cup Trophy batting award – Travis Head

Marsh One-Day Cup Trophy bowling award – Wes Agar

Marsh One-Day Cup MVP – Travis Head

WNCL Batting award – Bridget Patterson

WNCL Bowling award – Samantha Betts

WBBL Adelaide Strikers MVP – Sarah Coyte

WBBL Batting award – Laura Wolvaardt

WBBL Bowling award – Sarah Coyte

BBL Adelaide Strikers MVP – Wes Agar

BBL Batting award – Jake Weatherald

BBL Bowling award –Wes Agar

Barry ‘Nugget’ Rees Award – Henry Hunt

James Irwin Trophy (first-class batting award) – Travis Head

First-Class Bowling Trophy – Chadd Sayers

Lord Hampden Trophy – Travis Head


Ricky Ponting Medal – Jackson Bird

Female Tigers Player of the Year – Nicola Carey & Heather Graham

David Boon Medal (Sheffield Shield Player of the Year) – Jake Doran

Jack Simmons Medal (One-Day Cup Player of the Year) – Jordan Silk

Hobart Hurricanes BBL Player of the Tournament – Scott Boland

Hobart Hurricanes WBBL Player of the Tournament – Rachel Priest

Female Tigers Captain’s award – Emily Smith

Scott Mason Memorial Male Captain’s award – Charlie Wakim

Chairman’s Award (Male Program) – Jackson Bird

Chairman’s Award (Female Program) – Amy Smith

Jamie Cox Male Young Player of the Year – Caleb Jewell

Female Young Player of the Year – Amy Smith

Western Australia

Laurie Sawle Medal – Cameron Green

Zoe Goss Medal – Nicole Bolton

WA Domestic One-Day Player of the Year – Joel Paris

WA Domestic Four-Day Player of the Year – Cameron Green

Perth Scorchers WBBL Player of the Year – Beth Mooney

Perth Scorchers BBL Player of the Year (Simon Katich Medal) – Jhye Richardson

Male Rising Star – Lance Morris

Female Rising Star – Sheldyn Cooper

Excalibur Award – Sam Whiteman

Legacy Award – Sheldyn Cooper

Gallery of Great Inductees – Michael Hussey, Peta Verco and Karen Read


Sharon Tredrea Medal - Elyse Villani

Dean Jones Medal - Peter Handscomb

Bill Lawry Medal - Marcus Harris

Latest News

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.