Sthalekar awarded ACA’s highest honour

7 March, 2019

Lisa Sthalekar has been honoured with the ACA’s Kerry Packer Award for 2019.

The Award provides honorary ACA life membership and is presented to members or non-members who are deemed to have served the Association in an outstanding capacity. This award is judged by the ACA Executive and James Packer, and has a rich history of former winners.

Sthalekar boasts an outstanding on-field record spanning 16 years having captained Australia in 2006 and in 2007 was named the Australian International Cricketer of the Year.

Equally impressive is Sthalekar’s contribution off the field; appointed as a member of the inaugural ACA’s Women’s Executive established in 2009-10, was the first female appointed to the ACA Executive in 2014, and continues to serve on the FICA Board since 2016.

An insightful commentator on Seven Cricket and, Sthalekar is also still actively involved in NSW Premier Cricket.

ACA President Greg Dyer said of Sthalekar’s acknowledgement;

“Lisa was the unanimous choice for the Kerry Packer Award.

“Her contribution to the ACA Executive was vital, especially at a time where we accomplished some landmark outcomes for Australian cricket including the first gender equitable MOU.

“Lisa is a first-class person and a passionate ambassador for the players – a very worthy winner.”

Sthalekar awarded ACA's highest honour

Former ACA Executive Lisa Sthalekar has been recognised as the winner of the Kerry Packer Award. One the eve of International Womens Day, Sthalekar tells the ACA of some of her proudest off-field achievements.

Kerry Packer Award recipients:

  • Tim May
  • Chum Darvall
  • Ian Healy
  • Matthew Hayden
  • Greg Mail
  • Paul Marsh
  • Darren Lehmann
  • Mike Hussey
  • Greg Matthews
  • Simon Katich
  • Australia A squad to tour South Africa July - August 2017
  • Lisa Sthalekar
© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.