ACA welcomes new faces to the Executive

1 December, 2015
At the ACA Annual General Meeting held recently in Sydney, Aaron Finch, Moises Henriques and Janet Torney were officially welcomed to the ACA Executive Committee.

The appointments filled the vacancies created by Marcus North, Mike Hussey and George Bailey stepping down. We again offer our sincere gratitude to each of them for their tireless work and contribution to their fellow members over a long period.

The Executive Committee comprises seven members, one of whom is the elected President and four of whom must be ‘current player’ members. The current ACA Executive is as follows:

Greg Dyer (President)
Aaron Finch *
Moises Henriques *
Neil Maxwell
Lisa Sthalekar *
Janet Torney
Shane Watson *

NB: * denotes current player

Aaron Finch

A stocky right-hander from Colac in country Victoria, Aaron Finch has played 52 ODI’s for Australia, including the successful ICC World Cup.

Aaron wrote himself a place in the history books when he made a Twenty20 world-record 156 against England in 2013, an innings which also included a record 14 sixes. He captains Australia’s T20 team and the Melbourne Renegades, having also skippered Victoria on numerous occasions.

Moises Henriques

Moises Henriques is an all-rounder who has captained New South Wales and represented Australia in three Tests, six ODIs and four T20Is. He enjoyed a great start to his Test career against India in Chennai in 2013, scoring 68 and 81 not out.

The 28 year-old was more recently sidelined by a nasty collision with Surrey team-mate Rory Burns in June, which broke his jaw in three places. Thankfully he is back on the field and leading his beloved Blues.

Moises served as an ACA Player Delegate for eight years prior to joining the Executive.

Janet Torney

Janet Torney joins the ACA Executive with a wealth of experience in economics, investment and corporate governance. With an impressive career in a variety of executive management roles, Janet is also the Chairman of Whitehelm Capital, an infrastructure investment manager and advisor, and chairs its Advisory Investment Committee.

Janet has recently been appointed to the Board of Club Plus Superannuation and as the first independent director of the Fire Brigades Employees’ Credit Union. Additionally, Janet is non-executive director and Treasurer for Girl Guides Australia. In all her independent director roles Janet has been instrumental in guiding the establishment of a corporate governance framework that clarifies the roles and responsibilities of the Board and management and empowers the senior executive team.

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.