Aussie cricket legends take on Murray Districts for ACA Masters Tour 2023

13 November, 2023

The ACA Masters Tour is making its way to Loxton, South Australia for three days from Friday 17 November.

The ACA developed the Masters program in 2008, as a way for current and past players to promote and grow the game in regional areas, as well as raising funds for local cricket associations and communities.

The Tour squad for Loxton features fast bowler, Katelyn Pope who has represented South Australia in both cricket and AFLW.

She is joined by Peter Sleep who in 14 Test Matches for Australia between 1979 and 1990 took 31 wickets, and made three fifties with the bat. He proudly represented South Australia on 175 occasions, taking 363 wickets and scoring more than 8,000 runs at an average just shy of 35.

Also included in the squad is Tom Cooper, who debuted for South Australia in 2008 before going on to play 32 ODI matches for the Netherlands from 2010-2023; and Eliza Doddridge, a powerful right-hand batter who made her debut for South Australia in 2018.

Rounding out the squad of 13 are:

Peter George

Chris Harms

Daniel Harris

Neisha Iles

Sam Parkinson

Hannah Perry

Wayne Phillips

Kylie Rattray

Nick Winter

The Tour features cricket clinics at Loxton and Waikerie Primary Schools on Friday morning followed by a T20 Match from 5pm at the Loxton Oval.

Saturday’s events include a Regional Training Camp in the morning followed by a WWCB Clinic and concludes with a community dinner at The Precinct featuring a discussion with the players.

A $1,000 scholarship will be awarded to a talented young player from the region, which includes the unique opportunity to receive mentoring from one of the Masters players following the tour.

Masters event details:

Thursday 16 November

Welcome Dinner @ Loxton Hotel (6pm)

Friday 17 November

School Clinics at Loxton Primary School and Waikerie Primary School

T20 Match from 5pm at Loxton Oval

Saturday 18 November

Regional Training Camp (8:30am-12pm)

WWCB Clinic (4:30- 5:30pm)

Community Dinner (6-9pm)

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.