Community Champion Award introduced for 2019 Australian Cricket Awards

8 February, 2019

A new Community Champion award will be presented at the 2019 Australian Cricket Awards, as cricket’s night of nights enters an exciting new era.

The introduction of the award, developed in partnership between Cricket Australia and the Australian Cricketers’ Association, marks the latest evolution of the Australian Cricket Awards to better recognise and celebrate the performances of elite cricketers, both on and off the field.

The Community Champion Award acknowledges the contribution current Australia players make to the broader community and is awarded to a state or national player who has gone above and beyond in charity or community work during the award period^.

Nominations for the award can come from across the Australian cricket community, including players, Cricket Australia (CA), the Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA), and State Associations. These nominations will be considered and then shortlisted by state Player Development Managers, before a joint ACA and CA panel and two independent voters choose a winner for the award. For 2019, the independent voters are former Australian fast blower Glenn McGrath (McGrath Foundation) and former NSW Breaker Kath Koschel (Kindness Factory)

Cricket Australia CEO Kevin Roberts said:

“We are very excited about the addition of the new Community Champion Award to the Australian Cricket Awards for 2019.

“Our awards night has always celebrated the brilliant on-field performances of Australian cricketers on the international and domestic stage. Given our increased support for community cricket it is great that we now have an award that helps highlight the great work that many of our players do in their cricket communities.

“While there can only be one winner of the Award on the night, we thank all players who have been nominated throughout the process for contributing to their communities.”

Australian Cricketers’ Association CEO Alistair Nicholson said:

“The current players show tremendous commitment to their profession as elite cricketers, and we sometimes forget how much work they do away from the field to help influence positive change in society.

“The nomination process has uncovered some fantastic examples the male and female players contribute to the broader community and whoever receives the accolade on Monday night will be incredibly deserving.

“I want to thank the Award panel for their time and commitment, especially Kath and Glenn who have made such a profound impact through their own community work.

With the inclusion of the Community Cricket Award, a total of 11 awards will be presented at the 2019 Australian Cricket Awards, in addition to the celebration of three inductees to the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame:

  • Allan Border Medal
  • Belinda Clark Award
  • Men’s Test Player of the Year
  • Men’s ODI Player of the Year
  • Women’s ODI Player of the Year
  • Men’s T20 International Player of the Year
  • Women’s T20 International Player of the Year
  • Men’s Domestic Player of the Year
  • Women’s Domestic Player of the Year
  • Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year
  • Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year

The 2019 Australian Cricket Awards will be held on Monday 11 January at the Crown, Melbourne. The awards ceremony will be broadcast live on 7mate and FOX Cricket from 7pm.

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.