Haynes, Khawaja elected to ACA Board

3 December, 2021

Following its 2021 Annual General Meeting, the Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA) is proud to welcome Usman Khawaja and Rachael Haynes as Elected Directors to its Board.

The incoming pair will replace Aaron Finch and Kirsten Beams who have each served their term on the Board as Elected Directors.

Beams will consider remaining on the Board as an Appointed Director following recommendation from ACA Chair, Greg Dyer. Lisa Sthalekar, whose term as an initial Appointed Director expired, will also be recommended as an Appointed Director

Upon his election to the Board, Usman Khawaja said:

“I’m very passionate about the game of cricket. I believe the greatest thing we can do is help grow and develop this game that I love.

“Being on the ACA Board provides the platform to enact and make real changes, which I’m very humbled and honoured to be a part of.”

Upon her election to the Board, Rachael Haynes said:

“I’m really excited to be elected to the ACA Board and look forward to continuing the great work the association does in representing both current and past players.

“Over the past 15 years I’ve been incredibly fortunate to have witnessed first-hand the increased professionalism in the female domestic game, and I look forward to playing a critical leadership role to progress this further.

“I’m thankful for the opportunity to continue the important work the ACA has done in progressing the women’s game towards full professionalism.”

In acknowledging Aaron Finch’s service to the ACA, Dyer said:

“Aaron has given incredible service to the ACA for such a long time, including six years as a committee or board member.

“Aaron and his wife Amy welcomed a baby girl, Esther, in September and we all understand that now is the time for Aaron to enjoy more with his young family.

“Aaron, has served the ACA with great distinction, and by extension his fellow players. It was great to see him achieve another honour in captaining the T20 World Cup winning team.

The ACA Board is now:

  • Shane Watson (President)
  • Greg Dyer (Chair)
  • Pat Cummins
  • Rachael Haynes
  • Alyssa Healy
  • Moises Henriques
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Janet Torney

Kirsten Beams and Lisa Sthalekar are expected to be announced as Appointed Directors at an ACA Board meeting later this month.

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.