Nicholson congratulates AB Medal winners

13 February, 2018

The Australian Cricketers' Association Chief Executive Alistair Nicholson has congratulated all the award winners from the Allan Border Medal awards held last night in Melbourne in conjunction with Cricket Australia.

The night featured 12 awards, including the inclusions of Ricky Ponting, Karen Rolton and Norm O'Neill to the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.

Steve Smith was awarded the Allan Border Medal after a rare international year which included an Ashes win as captain and six Test centuries.

Ellyse Perry was awarded the Belinda Clark Award for the second time, after a season which saw her score 756 runs including a memorable double century in the Ashes.

"I would like to congratulate all the award winners from Monday night, especially Steve Smith and Ellyse Perry for taking home the highest honours," Nicholson said.

"Steve has had an outstanding 12 months, culminating in the Ashes win this summer, while Ellyse has had a wonderful year, where she has taken her game to a new level in all formats.

In the other awards, Beth Mooney took out the Female Domestic Player of the Year, while Tasmania's Georgia Redmayne was voted the Betty Wilson Young Player of the Year.

In the male domestic awards, Tasmanian Captain George Bailey was voted Domestic Player of the Year, while Jhye Richardson was named the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year.

"It was great to see the players votes produce some very worthy winners, so well done to those players on an outstanding 12 months," Nicholson said

"Domestic cricket in Australia is in a really strong place, especially with the Sheffield Shield and WNCL providing the best high-performance environments in the world for domestic cricketers.

The international cricket awards were won by Smith (Test Player of the Year), David Warner (ODI Player of the Year) and Aaron Finxh (T20I Player of the Year).

On the inclusions of Rolton, Ponting and O'Neill to the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame, Nicholson said:

"Congratulations to Ricky, Karen and Norm on being inducted in the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame. To be inducted alongside an esteemed list of names is a great recognition of your achievements in the game of cricket."

"Ricky was a true leader on and off the field. Highly respected among his peers, he will be remembered as one Australia's greatest ever players and captains."

"Karen was a pioneer of the women's game over an illustrious 14-year career, setting a number of records during her time with the Australian team. Karen's legacy to the game is unquestionable and she is regarded as one Australia's most influential players."

"A hero of yesteryear, Norm was an exciting member of the successful and uncompromising Australian team through the 1950s and 1960s. He was a complete cricketer and excited many with the bat over his career."

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.