State-by-State: 2021-22 Player Awards

5 May, 2022

End-of-season State Association Award Nights have been run and won across the country, all the individual award winners are listed here. The ACA congratulates each winner on their terrific season.

In Western Australia, Hilton Cartwright claimed his second Laurie Sawle Medal as a key figure in the state's run to the Sheffield Shield and One-Day Cup winning seasons. The Zoe Goss Medal was won by Amy Edgar, the allrounder finished the season as WA's highest WNCL run-scorer and second leading wicket-taker.

In South Australia, rising stars Courtney Webb and Henry Hunt each won their state's top prize for the first time. Webb secured the McCauley Medal for her 367 WNCL runs which included a team-high of 88 in the Final whilst Hunt peeled off 601 Sheffield Shield runs at the top of the SA order and also filled in as captain late in the summer.

Nic Maddinson has now won consecutive John Scholes Awards as well as the Bill Lawry Medal for his outstanding Sheffield Shield season. The 28-year-old scored 545 runs at an average of 54.5 for the Vics, while young quick Henry Hunt collected the Marsh One-Day Cup best player award. Wicketkeeper Nicole Faltum bolstered her stocks as one of Australia’s brightest talents, picking up the Sharon Tredrea Award.

The top prizes at the Cricket NSW awards night were Maitlan Brown and Chris Tremain. In her first summer for the Breakers and Sixers, fast bowler Brown claimed the Belinda Clark Medal for starring in the WNCL and WBBL. Fellow fast bowler Tremain won his first-ever Steve Waugh Medal following his performances across the One-Day Cup and Sheffield Shield competitions.

Quick Mark Steketee was rewarded for another fine summer with the ball to claim the Ian Healy Trophy at the QLD Cricket Awards Night with batter Mikayla Hinkley breaking through for her maiden Queensland Fire Player of the Year award. Steketee's 32 wickets at 17.93 were a competition-high whilst Hinkley's 319 WNCL runs were capped with a fine knock of 121* late in the season.

The Cricket Tasmania Awards Night was headlined by bowler Sarah Coyte winning the Female Tigers' Player of the Year in their title-winning campaign, and the Ricky Ponting Medal ended in a tie between Jordan Silk and Peter Siddle. Coyte finished as her side's joint leading wicket-taker to claim the award whilst batter Silk finished highest in Tasmania's One-Day runs and second in their Sheffield Shield runs. Siddle finished as the leading wicket-taker in both forms for Tasmania.

In the ACT, Erin Osborne completed her final season of professional cricket with her state's highest honour as the ACT Meteors' Player of the Year.

WA Cricket

Laurie Sawle Medal - Hilton Cartwright

Zöe Goss Medal - Amy Edgar

WA Domestic One Day Player Of The Year – Andrew Tye

WA Domestic Four Day Player of the Year – Hilton Cartwright

WA WNCL Player of the Year – Amy Edgar

Simon Katich Medal – Ashton Agar

Perth Scorchers WBBL Player of the Year – Sophie Devine

Male Rising Star – Teague Wyllie

Female Rising Star – Georgia Wyllie

South Australian Cricket Association

Marsh One-Day Cup MVP - Alex Carey

WBBL Adelaide Strikers MVP - Katie Mack

Andrea McCauley Medal - Courtney Webb

BBL Adelaide Strikers MVP - Matt Short

Neil Dansie Medal - Henry Hunt

Cricket Victoria

Bill Lawry Medal - Nic Maddinson

Sharon Tredrea Award - Nicole Faltum

One-Day Player of the Year - Henry Thornton

John Scholes Award - Nic Maddinson

Melbourne Renegades Players of the Season

BBL - Kane Richardson

WBBL - Harmanpreet Kaur

Melbourne Stars Players of the Season

BBL - Joe Clarke

WBBL - Kim Garth

Cricket New South Wales

Steve Waugh Medal – Chris Tremain

Belinda Clark Medal – Maitlan Brown

Marsh One Day Cup NSW Player of the Season – Hayden Kerr

WNCL NSW Player of the Season – Erin Burns

Marsh Sheffield Shield NSW Player of the Season – Chris Tremain

WBBL|05 Alex Blackwell Medal – Smriti Mandhana

BBL|09 Mike Hussey Medal – Sam Billings

WBBL|05 Sydney Sixers Player of the Tournament – Nicole Bolton

BBL|09 Sydney Sixers Player of the Tournament – Hayden Kerr

Queensland Cricket

Ian Healy Trophy – Mark Steketee

Queensland Fire Player of the Year – Mikayla Hinkley

Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Year – Mark Steketee

Marsh One Day Cup Player of the Year – Matthew Renshaw

Brisbane Heat WBBL MVP – Grace Harris

Brisbane Heat BBL MVP – Ben Duckett

Cricket Tasmania

Ricky Ponting Medal: Jordan Silk and Peter Siddle

Female Tigers Player of the Year: Sarah Coyte

Jamie Cox Male Young Player of the Year: Tim Ward

Female Young Player of the Year: Emma Manix-Geeves

David Boon Medal (Sheffield Shield): Caleb Jewell

One Day Player of the Tournament: Jordan Silk

Hobart Hurricanes BBL Player of the Tournament: Ben McDermott

Hobart Hurricanes WBBL Player of the Tournament: Tayla Vlaeminck

Cricket ACT

Abode Hotels ACT Meteors Player of the Year - Erin Osborne

Latest News

Internship gives Davis a head start
29 March, 2022
© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.