Henriques leads Shield All*Star Team

1 April, 2020
New South Wales veteran and ACA Director Moises Henriques has been voted by the players as Captain of the ACA All*Star Sheffield Shield Team of the Year.

New South Wales finished comfortably on top of the table, ahead of a chasing Western Australia and Victoria, before the competition was cut-short prior to the final round in March. Henriques amassed 512 runs at an average of 51.2, but was the only New South Welshman included, demonstrating an even performance by all Blues players throughout 2019-20.

Fast bowlers were in vogue in 2019-20, with the players voting for a four-pronged pace attack, with Jackson Bird named as 12th man.

Queensland pair Cameron Gannon (38 wickets @ 20.92) and Michael Neser (33 wickets @ 17.3) were selected after outstanding seasons by the Bulls’ bowlers. After announcing his international retirement earlier in the season, veteran Peter Siddle (32 wickets @ 19.87) was once again included in the team. Rounding out the pace attack was Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year Wes Agar (33 wickets @ 24.21).

Australian opener Joe Burns fills the first spot at the top of the order after scoring 515 runs at 51.5. Nic Maddinson was rewarded for his successful season with the bat (780 runs @ 86.66), opening alongside Burns. Maddinson topped the competition’s run tally 15 runs ahead of South Australia’s Tom Cooper (765 runs @ 54.64), with Shaun Marsh following in third.

Marsh (724 runs @ 48.26) made it a hat-trick of ACA All*Star teams of the year for 2019-20, adding to his Domestic Player of the Year award at the recent Australian Cricket Awards.

He was selected alongside Western Australian teammate Cameron Green, for his first All*Star Team selection. Green (699 runs @ 63.54) was the breakout star of 2019-20, who played predominantly as a batsman after injury prevented bowling for much of the year.

Despite only playing four games, Alex Carey (386 runs @ 55.14 & 15 catches) was selected as wicket-keeper. Australia’s limited overs ‘keeper and vice-captain scored two centuries in his four games, top scoring with 143.

Henriques rounded out the batsmen at number seven.

“There's no one that's as up close and personal more than the people you're playing with and against, so to be recognised by your peers is very special to me. I've never been recognised as skipper in a Sheffield Shield season before so this is new ground for me. Unfortunately, I can’t go out and represent the team of the season but it’s still a nice recognition,” Henriques said.

It was a fruitful season for the New South Wales veteran. The 33-year-old won two out of a possible three trophies on the domestic circuit, first captaining the Sydney Sixers to their second BBL title before later winning the Sheffield Shield with New South Wales, after they were declared winners in March.

“I was very happy on a personal level. Not all the time you get to win one competition in just one season, so to win two competitions, it’s pretty amazing. It would have been nice to do it the old-fashioned way with New South Wales and actually do it after winning a final, but I don't think anyone would argue that we weren’t the form team all year,” Henriques added.

General Manager Cricket Operations and Player Relations Brendan Drew praised the players for another competitive Sheffield Shield season.

“The Sheffield Shield is the centre-piece of men’s domestic cricket in Australia,” he said

“To be voted by your fellow players in the ACA Sheffield Shield Team of the Year, is an honour that will be extremely valued by the selected players – and particularly rewarding for two young stars in Cameron Green and Wes Agar who announced themselves on the domestic stage this season.

“Despite an unfortunately shortened season, we saw some highly-competitive cricket throughout the year, which was priming cricket fans for a fantastic Shield final. While not to be, New South Wales were the worthy winners, and is why Moises as part of that side deserves to be recognised as the Captain of the ACA Team of the Year.”

2019-20 ACA Sheffield Shield All*Star Team

Joe Burns (QLD) | 515 runs | 51.50 ave | 100s: 1 | 50s: 3 | HS: 135

Nic Maddinson (VIC) | 780 runs | 86.66 ave | 100s: 2 | 50s: 5 | HS: 224

Shaun Marsh (WA) | 724 runs | 48.26 ave | 100s: 2 | 50s: 3 | HS: 214

Cameron Green (WA) | 699 runs | 63.54 ave | 100s: 3 | 50s 1: | HS: 158*

Tom Cooper (SA) | 765 runs | 54.64 ave | 100s: 1 | 50s: 4 | HS: 271*

Alex Carey (WK) (SA) | 386 runs | 55.14 ave | 100s: 2 | 50s: 1 | HS: 143 | 15 catches

Moises Henriques (C) (NSW) | 512 runs | 51.20 ave | 100s: 2 | 50s: 1 | HS: 124

Michael Neser (QLD) | 33 wkts | 17.30 ave | 2.39 econ | BBI: 5/56

Cameron Gannon (QLD) | 38 wkts | 20.92 ave | 2.69 econ | BBI: 5/94

Peter Siddle (VIC) | 32 wkts | 19.87 ave | 2.28 econ | BBI: 5/49

Wes Agar (SA) | 33 wkts | 24.21 ave | 2.74 econ | BBI: 5/53

12th Jackson Bird (TAS) | 28 wkts | 22.35 ave | 2.82 econ | BBI: 5/78

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.