Players vote for their BBL All Star Team

6 February, 2021

The players have voted for their BBL10 Australian Cricketers’ Association All*Star Team ahead of tonight’s final in Sydney with Glenn Maxwell elected as skipper for the second consecutive season.

Ten Australian’s feature in the team of 13, including six who have been selected in Australia’s T20I tour of New Zealand across February and March; Josh Philippe, Ben Mcdermott, Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa, Jhye Richardson, and Tanveer Sangha.

Powerful batter-keeper Josh Philippe bolstered his reputation as one of Australia’s best up and coming talents, earning selection at the top of the order for the second consecutive year. Ahead of tonight’s final, the 23-year-old has so far blasted 499 runs while accumulating three half centuries.

Brisbane Heat captain Chris Lynn enters the team with 458 runs for the season, scoring the third most in the competition. He’s followed by Hurricanes batter Ben McDermott who was rewarded for his form with selection into Australia’s T20I tour of New Zealand.

Stars’ captain Glenn Maxwell finished the regular tournament with 379 runs and seven wickets. Allrounder Dan Christian will be vying for his ninth T20 title tonight and first with the Sydney Sixers since joining ahead of BBL10.

Australian Cricket Awards
Domestic and Young Cricketers of the Year kick off Australian Cricket Awards

Cricket Australia and the Australian Cricketers’ Association are proud to announce the four domestic player-voted award winners for the Australian Cricket Awards

Jhye Richardson earned the nod from his peers with 27 wickets, a competition high, alongside 2019-20 Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year, Wes Agar (21 wickets), who continued his form this season. Aussie leg-spinner, Adam Zampa, rounds out the team with 19 wickets.

English international Alex Hales opens at the top of the order alongside Philippe. The opening batter finished the season with the most runs in the tournament (535 runs), scoring one of only two centuries during BBL10.

ICC T20I Player of the Decade Rashid Khan was voted in by the players for the fourth consecutive season, as was Kiwi Colin Munro.

Alex Carey was selected as one of the team’s X-Factors, alongside Tanveer Sangha, whose form in BBL10 earned him a selection for Australia’s tour of New Zealand.

2020-21 BBL All Star Team

Josh Philippe (SS) (WK) – 454 runs | 149.34 ScRt | 14 catches |1 stumping

Alex Hales (SS) – 535 runs | 163.61 ScRt

Chris Lynn (BH) – 420 runs | 157.3 ScRt

Ben McDermott (HH) – 402 runs | 139.58 ScRt | 10 catches

Glenn Maxwell (MS) © – 379 runs | 143 ScRt | 7 wkts | 31.57 ave | 7.66 econ

Colin Munro (HH) – 411 runs | 129.65 ScRt

Daniel Christian (SS) – 253 runs | 186.67 ScRt | 13 wkts | 28.0 ave | 9.1 econ

Rashid Khan (AS) – 16 wkts | 17.31 ave | 6.92econ

Adam Zampa (MS) – 19 wkts | 17.47 ave | 7.35 econ

Jhye Richardson (PS) – 27wkts | 13.3 ave | 7.11 econ

Wes Agar (AS) – 21 wkts | 20.33 ave | 8.24 econ

XFactor Alex Carey (AS) – 412 runs | 126.38 ScRt | 14 catches

XFactor Tanveer Sangha (ST) – 19wkts | 16.63 ave | 8.0 econ

Continue reading

Lisa Sthalekar inducted into Australian Cricket Hall of Fame
5 February, 2021
The ACA appoints Todd Greenberg as CEO
25 January, 2021
© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.