State-by-state: End of season player awards

22 April, 2020

With the Australian domestic season officially done and dusted for 2019-20, state associations have taken to social media to announce their end of year player awards.

In Western Australia, Shaun Marsh claimed his second consecutive Laurie Sawle Medal, in the year he was voted as the Domestic Player of the Year by his peers at February’s Australian Cricket Awards. The 36-year-old claimed a trifecta of Western Australian Awards, also winning the four-day and one day player of the year prizes. In a record-breaking year, Nicole Bolton won her third Zoe Goss Medal, topping the WNCL’s run scorer list. Her player of the match performances guided WA to their first WNCL crown in a season where she become the first WA female to surpass 400 runs.

In South Australia, Wes Agar and Tahlia McGrath won their state’s top prize. It was McGrath’s second Andrea McCauley Medal, narrowly edging out Aussie speedster Megan Schutt. McGrath also collected the WNCL bowling award (13 wickets) and the WNCL most improved accolade. Wes Agar’s breakout year yielded four awards on his return to the Redbacks. The 23-year-old quick won his first Neil Dansie Medal after excelling across all three formats in the state. In February, he was also voted by the players as the best young cricketer in the country, winning the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year Award.

Nic Maddinson won his first John Scholes Award as well as the Bill Lawry Medal for his outstanding Sheffield Shield season. The 28-year-old blasted 780 runs at an average of 86.67 for the Vics, while ACA Director and Aussie Men’s white-ball skipper Aaron Finch collected the Marsh One-Day Cup best player award. World Cup winner Annabel Sutherland bolstered her stocks as one of Australia’s brightest talents, picking up the Sharon Tredrea Award.

After calling time on her esteemed international and domestic career, Rene Farrell claimed her first Belinda Clark Medal. Farrell’s farewell season yielded 21 wickets for the Breakers at 13.1, bringing her career to a close with season-best figures of 4-33 in the WNCL Final. Farrell departed the game with 114 games for Australia and 134 WNCL wickets for NSW, ACT and Western Australia. Daniel Hughes brought up his second Steve Waugh Medal for the Blues, also backing it up with the One Day Cup NSW Player of the Year prize. Hughes was the leading run-scorer in the 50 over competition with 440 runs at an average of 73.33, and also scored 665 Shield runs at 44.3. Harry Conway was named Shield Player of the Season with a career best 25 wickets at 21.32.

Bowling all-rounder Michael Neser dominated Queensland’s awards picking up three for his performances over the 2019/20 season. He walked away with the Ian Healy Trophy, Shield Player of the Year and Players’ Player accolades after finishing second on the Shield season wicket tally with 33. Sammy Jo-Johnson also claimed her state’s top prize as the Fire’s top wicket-taker (11). She starred across the WNCL and Brisbane’s championship winning WBBL season, and was selected for Australia A’s series against India.

Jackson Bird collected three awards following another dominant season for Tasmania. He picked up the State’s highest prize, the Ricky Ponting Medal, and player of the year awards for the Sheffield Shield and One Day Tournament. Maisy Gibson won Tasmania’s Player of the Year Award, claiming 10 wickers at an average of 26 during her debut season with the Tigers.

Cricket Tasmania and ACT are yet to announce their award winners online.

Australian Cricketers’ Association Chief Executive Alistair Nicholson said:

“Congratulations to all players who won individual or team accolades over the course of the season. Although the year ended abruptly as a result of these challenging times, it is still important to reflect upon and recognise achievements of the players.

“To the players who have come to the end of their professional career, on behalf of all ACA Members, I thank you for your contribution to the game at this level.

“Whether you are transitioning from the game into the next stage of your life, or pursuing further cricketing opportunities, I wish you the very best of luck.

“And it is important to remember that the ACA will be there every step of the way with you.

Western Australia

Laurie Sawle Medal - Shaun Marsh

Zöe Goss Medal - Nicole Bolton

Gold Cup – Ashton Agar

WA Domestic One Day Player Of The Year – Shaun Marsh

WA Domestic Four Day Player of the Year – Shaun Marsh

WA WNCL Player of the Year – Nicole Bolton

Simon Katich Medal – Jhye Richardson

Perth Scorchers WBBL Player of the Year – Nat Sciver

Male Rising Star – Aaron Hardie

Female Rising Star – Ashley Day

Excalibur Award – Joel Paris

Legacy Award – Kath Hempenstall

South Australia

Marsh One-Day Cup Trophy batting award - Callum Ferguson

Marsh One-Day Cup Trophy bowling award - Wes Agar

Marsh One-Day Cup MVP - Callum Ferguson

WNCL Batting award - Bridget Patterson

WNCL Bowling award - Tahlia McGrath

WBBL Adelaide Strikers MVP - Sophie Devine

Andrea McCauley Medal - Tahlia McGrath

BBL Adelaide Strikers MVP - Jon Wells

Barry 'Nugget' Rees Award - Nick Winter

James Irwin - First Class Batting trophy - Tom Cooper

First Class Bowling trophy - Wes Agar

Lord Hampden Trophy - Wes Agar

Neil Dansie Medal - Wes Agar


Bill Lawry Medal - Nic Maddinson

Sharon Tredrea Award - Annabel Sutherland

One-Day Player of the Year - Aaron Finch

John Scholes Award - Nic Maddinson

Commonwealth Bank Future Star Awards

Male - Jake Fraser-McGurk

Female - Tess Flintoff

Melbourne Renegades Players of the Season

BBL - Beau Webster

WBBL - Jess Duffin

Melbourne Stars Players of the Season

BBL - Marcus Stoinis

WBBL - Lizelle Lee

New South Wales

Steve Waugh Medal – Daniel Hughes

Belinda Clark Medal – Rene Farrell

Marsh One Day Cup NSW Player of the Season – Daniel Hughes

WNCL NSW Player of the Season – Rene Farrell

Marsh Sheffield Shield NSW Player of the Season – Harry Conway

WBBL|05 Alex Blackwell Medal – Hannah Darlington

BBL|09 Mike Hussey Medal – Daniel Sams

WBBL|05 Sydney Sixers Player of the Tournament – Marizanne Kapp

BBL|09 Sydney Sixers Player of the Tournament – Josh Philippe

Queensland Cricket

Ian Healy Trophy – Michael Neser

Queensland Fire Player of the Year – Sammy-Jo Johnson

Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Year – Michael Neser

Marsh One Day Cup Player of the Year – Usman Khawaja

Queensland Fire Player’s Player – Grace Harris

Queensland Bulls Player’s Player – Michael Neser

Brisbane Heat WBBL MVP – Jess Jonassen

Brisbane Heat BBL MVP – Matthew Renshaw

QAS Player of the Year – Bryce Street

Cricket Tasmania and ACT are yet to announce their award winners online.

Cricket Tasmania

Ricky Ponting Medal: Jackson Bird

Female Tigers Player of the Year: Maisy Gibson

Chairman's Award: Beau Webster

David Boon Medal (Sheffield Shield): Jackson Bird

One Day Player of the Tournament: Jackson BIrd

Scott Mason Memorial Captain’s Award: Nathan Ellis

Cricket ACT are yet to announce their award winners online.

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.