Langer, Thompson inducted to Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

27 January, 2022

The Australian Cricket Hall of Fame Committee, together with Cricket Australia (CA) and the Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA), is delighted to announce Raelee Thompson and Justin Langer as the 2022 inductees in the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.

Thompson and Langer become the 58th and 59th inductees respectively, since the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame was established in 1996.

A left-handed batter hailing from Scarborough Cricket Club in Perth’s north-west, Langer’s toughness and resilience as a cricketer was on display from the beginning of his Test career.

A gritty 54 on debut at the Adelaide Oval in 1993 that saw him hit on the helmet by West Indian fast bowler Ian Bishop signalled a player who relished the challenge of international cricket.

He spent the first years of his career at No.3, including when famously partnering with Adam Gilchrist to chase down 369 to beat Pakistan in Hobart in 1999.

Langer moved to the top of the order in 2001, where he shared in Australia’s most successful opening partnership in Test cricket with Matthew Hayden. The pair compiled 6,081 runs together from 122 Test innings at an average of 51.53, including 14 century stands.

A career built on fighting above his weight, Langer amassed 7,696 runs with a Test average of 45.27.

He also played in eight One Day Internationals in a career spanning 18 years and played first-class cricket for Western Australia, Middlesex and Somerset, scoring 28,382 runs at an average of 50.23.

Following successful stints as coach of WA and Perth Scorchers, Langer was appointed coach of the Australian men’s cricket team in May 2018, and led them to the Men’s ICC 2021 T20 World Cup title and retaining the Ashes in 2019 and 2021-2022.

Raelee Thompson, hailing from Shepparton in Victoria’s north-east, is one of the pioneers of the women’s game.

A fast bowler who played 16 Tests and 23 One Day Internationals for Australia between 1972 and 1985, she captained the team four times. Thompson is the oldest player – male or female – to take a maiden five-wicket haul in Test matches at 39 years and 175 days of age.

Her final Test match in 1985, the fifth and deciding Test match of the 1984-85 Women’s Ashes series played in Bendigo, saw her lead the Australians to reclaim the Women’ Ashes trophy after a 30-year hiatus.

Thompson took 57 Test wickets at an average of 18.24 and 24 One-Day International wickets at 18.66.

Thompson also represented Victoria on 45 occasions before serving as a selector for many years. She has continued mentoring future generations of female cricketers at her home club, Essendon Maribyrnong Park Ladies Cricket Club and accepted Life Membership from Cricket Victoria in 2018.

“The Australian Cricketers’ Association is humbled to induct two very deserving figures of Australian cricket into the Hall of Fame," said ACA CEO, Todd Greenberg.

“Justin’s record as a player speaks for itself. His record as an opener underpinned one of the most successful eras of Australian cricket. And his influence on the game has extended beyond his playing career – firstly through his commitment to the betterment of Western Australian cricket which is almost unparalleled, right through to the national team set-up which has convincingly held the Ashes on the back of winning the T20 World Cup for the first time.

“Raelee is an ambassador and ornament to the Women’s game and was part of a team of trailblazing women – including four games as captain – who can be credited for the success that the current-day Australian Women’s Cricket Team enjoys. Raelee’s commitment to the betterment of women’s cricket at all levels through mentoring and administration roles is inspiring.

“To this day she remains a prominent figure in cricket, particularly at Essendon Maribyrnong Park Ladies Cricket Club where she is a Life Member. She is hugely deserving of her induction.”

Continue reading

© Australian Cricket Players Limited
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
The Australian Cricketers’ Association acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.